Trumpeter Pasi Pirinen is Professor of Brass Instruments at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki and Principal Trumpet of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra.

Prior to joining the Helsinki Philharmonic Pirinen served a Principal Trumpet of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra. His very first orchestral engagements were as Principal Trumpet of the Córdoba Symphony and of the San Luis Chamber Orchestra in Argentina.

Pirinen started his instrumental studies in his hometown of Tornio in northern Finland and later attended the junior department of Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. He studied under the tutelage of John Miller, Paul Cosh and Paul Archibald  at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, after which private studies took him to Michael Sachs in Cleveland, US and to Antoine Curé in Paris.

In 1998 Pirinen won 1st Prize in the ITG Ellsworth Smith Trumpet Competition in the US and in 1987 2nd Prize in the Concertino Praga Competition. He was chosen 'Brass Player of the Year' by the  Lieksa Brass Festival in Finland in 1999.

Pirinen regularly teaches masterclasses in the most renowned conservatoires around the world. He  frequently serves  as a member of jury in prestigious international trumpet competitions, including the Theo Charlier Competition in Brussels, Città di Porcia in Italy,  Aeolus in Düsseldorf, and most recently as Chair of the 2023 International Philip Jones Brass Ensemble Competition in Birmingham.

Pirinen has appeared as guest Principal Trumpet with a wide range of orchestras, notably with groups such as Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, and also on period instruments with the Finnish Baroque Orchestra.

As an active soloist Pirinen has played first performances of many contemporary works, including concertos by composers Erik Bergman, Jouni Kaipainen, Harri Wessman and Anthony Plog. Notable performances in the contemporary genre also include the trumpet concerto by Peter Maxwell-Davies, Requiem by Hans Werner Henze and Luciano Berio´s Sequenza X.

His critically acclaimed discography includes albums 'Heptade' and an album of trumpet concertos by Haydn, Kaipainen and Tomasi with the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Hannu Lintu released by the Alba label.

Pirinen has appeared as soloist under conductors such as Sakari Oramo, Okko Kamu, Leif Segerstam, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Gennadi Roshdestvensky, John Storgårds, Hannu Lintu, Roberto Minchzuk and Grant Llewellyn.

Pasi Pirinen is a Yamaha Artist.